Irradiance at distance - why the headline number misleads (explainer skeleton)
How to read the numbers: (1) irradiance is light power per area (mW/cm2); (2) it falls as distance from the panel increases, so a figure quoted at 0-6 inches is not comparable with one quoted at 12 inches; (3) cost per watt puts panels of different sizes on one scale.
Cost per watt comparison
Table is wider than your screen - swipe or scroll sideways to see every column →
| Panel | Price | Power draw / output (W) | $ per watt (cross-brand) | Irradiance @ 6in (verified) | Irradiance @ 12in | Link | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mito Red Light MitoPRO 1500+ | $1,169 (MitoPRO+ series from $369) | 750W - published as "power consumption" (wall draw) | Removed: wattage definitions differ across brands, so $/W is not comparable | >170 mW/cm2 | Not stated on the page we read | mitoredlight.com | Oct 24, 2026 |
| TrueLight Energy Trism | $850.55 (page shows $989 struck through) | 110W - published as "Power"; metric definition not stated | Removed: wattage definitions differ across brands, so $/W is not comparable | Not stated; page publishes 18.9 mW/cm2 at contact | Not stated on the page we read | shoptruelight.com | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Joovv Solo 3.0 | From $1,699 (Go from $549, Mini from $1,099) | Not stated on the page we read | Not comparable - wattage not stated | Not stated | Not stated on the page we read | joovv.com | Oct 24, 2026 |
Manufacturer claims we could not verify at a stated distance: Joovv advertises >100 mW/cm2 without stating the measurement distance on its comparison page. Mito Red Light publishes its 6-inch figure; TrueLight publishes only an at-contact figure. These three are not measured the same way, so the table does not rank them against each other.
Warranty & restocking terms
Table is wider than your screen - swipe or scroll sideways to see every column →
| Brand | Warranty | Return window | Restocking fee | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mito Red Light | 3-year | 60-day trial | None - policy states "We do not charge restocking fees"; return shipping may be the customer's cost | Oct 24, 2026 |
| TrueLight | 1-year | 60-day money-back guarantee on the product page; the refund policy text says 90 days for TrueLight-branded items | None under the money-back guarantee per the refund policy | Oct 24, 2026 |
| Joovv | 2-year (Solo and Mini); 1-year (Go) | 30 days (Go, per compare page); 60 days (Gen 3.0 modular, per refund policy) | $50 on opened Go returns; none stated for modular devices | Oct 24, 2026 |
Terms matter: a cheaper panel with a restocking fee and short warranty can cost more than it saves. We verify these on each brand's own policy pages.